Around the world, Travel

You can travel east, you can travel west…one of many travel memories :)

My best friend and I have traveled quite a bit together, and I’ve gone on several trips without him, too. I made a list in this post about the places I’ve been in the past few years (I think I might have omitted Mexico, where we took a cruise in 2008).

I’ve climbed the stairs to the Eiffel Tower, scaled the Great Wall of China, and circumnavigated the great Colosseum in Rome. I’ve seen Buckingham Palace, stayed in the Waldorf Astoria in Manhattan, and ridden in Executive First class on a transatlantic flight (that Haagen Dazs and warm chocolate chip cookies were great!).  However, one of my greatest travel memories took place in a pub in Prague.

Some members of my tour group were up for a night on the town, and several of us ended up in the equivalent of a sports bar here at home. We were looking for a place to sit, and asked two young men if we could sit with them. I think the mix of female Aussie, Canadian and American accents finally convinced them! The two guys spoke English quite well, and we learned that they were bankers and had to work at 7:00 the next morning. A lot of miscellaneous chatter took place; I remember them saying that it was hard to believe one woman was 28! (I was 21 at the time :)).

Is there an exciting end to the story? Nope. Just the memory of sitting in a pub, with people my age, on a different continent is enough for me. The Eiffel Tower will (hopefully) always be there, but my days of sitting in a pub with a pint (or 2 or 3…) of beer at midnight are quickly coming to a close. Long live the simple things.

1 thought on “You can travel east, you can travel west…one of many travel memories :)”

  1. I envy you, with all the sights you’ve been able to take in… I don’t know anyone else you has managed to see so much in so little time… It’s quite amazing! Can’t wait to hear about more of your travels.

Leave a comment