30 by 30!!

JULY [um, yeah…I can’t do math…!] 21st, 2011, is the day. The day when it will be exactly 6 months until my 30th birthday.

Honestly, the number doesn’t mean a lot to me. I’m not one for setting age-related goals in life; every time I’ve tried, I’ve ended up disappointed and miserable. So, I told myself that I will do my best and get things done in my own time! No “I want to get married by X”, “I haaaave to have kids by X”, etc., for me!

One thing that can’t wait, however, is my health. I’ve let my fitness level and eating habits lapse over the past couple of years, and I think that things have finally settled down in my life. It’s time! I have pledged to myself to lose (a minimum of) 30 in 30; that is, 30 lbs by the time I turn 30 on January 21st. I think 6 months is a more than reasonable amount of time to accomplish this goal; I did it 7 years ago, and I can do it again!! My new place of work even has a gym in the basement, and the staff does a “Biggest Loser” competition a few times a year. I do well when I’m accountable to someone or a group of people, so I’m signing up right away for the next challenge! My goal is to be bikini-ready for next spring; perhaps my bff and I will set off on one of our adventures. I really, REALLY want to go back to Hawaii, or on a Southern Caribbean Cruise, or…well, you get the point  🙂

So, stay tuned…as of June 21st, I’m going hardcore and I’ll need my readers’ help. I know that I’m going to have BAD sugar/salt/fatty food cravings, so there might be a few posts with barely more than “I desperately want [insert food here] right now!” There will probably be some bad days along the way, too…but writing, for me, is the best therapy 🙂

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    Ray Strowbridge Says:

    Hi, I liked reading this post. Very insightful.

    • 2
      starrzone Says:

      Thanks, Ray! That’s one of the benefits of having a naturally determined personality; if I set my mind to do something I truly want, it WILL happen!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

